Suddenly, Tens of people are reading my blog and writing to me.

I’m a big “adventure” guy. When I was 17, I lived in Central Park for a summer. I’ve driven cross-country on 45 minutes notice – twice. I burned all my ties, quit the cubicle farm and became a filmmaker; then when my wife quit Corporate Life we moved from Texas to the West coast without a plan, a clue, or any money. In 2007, we moved 3000 miles to live with newfound birthparents-in-law for a year. I find uncertainty more fun if you actually find out “what if…”.

Losing my vision is my biggest adventure, second only to my marriage. Unfortunately, I don’t really have friends who understand it in those terms. All my current friends either feel sorry for me or worried about me. Telling them about weird optical illusions created by the cataracts or visual hallucinations inherent to losing sight never causes any of them to crack a smile. I excitedly tell them how I walked to the park by myself, and I can see tears in their eyes. I feel like I’m bumming everyone out!

Being able to talk about going blind in a non-bummery fashion on this blog for the last two months has been very cathartic. I just wish I had someone to laugh at me when I bump into crap. Maybe I’ll go roller-skating in a clown wig. I have GOT to get my giggle fix.

The outpouring of kindness I’ve felt in the last two weeks, first from my white cane adventure then from my broadcast, has really reaffirmed my faith in humanity.

Now, I just have to work on humanity’s sense of humor.

Thanks to Kirstin for the pointer for 5-Element Acupuncture, to Paul for letting me know about the Washington State Department of Services for the Blind and Seattle Lighthouse for the Blind, to Anne for letting me know about Deep Baseball, to Jan, a Seattle woman who lost her vision at age 2 to cancer, for her offer of general advice, and to everyone who wrote in to give me words of encouragement.

And like I said to Kate in the comments: If you see me walking around town, don’t be shy. I’m trying not to be.

My wife and I signed a lease on a new apartment today. I’m about to conduct my first move since giving up driving and am changing my surroundings for the first time since going blind enough to need the white cane.

The adventure continues….

2 responses to this post.

  1. You’re the only person, apart from me, who I’ve heard describing going blind as an adventure. What else is it? Are you going to sit in a corner and rust? I think not.

    I’d laugh at you bumping into things if I was there, only because I’d be identifying with you, and know that wehn I bump into things, I can appreciate the humour of the situation. No point in being po-faced about it, it won’t hurt any less. In a strange way, I know I’m alive while I’m doing such things.

    Who knows, if I hadn’t lost so much of my sight, I’d have missed out on meeting some great people, I probably wouldn’t have bothered with photography, and wouldn’t have to have worked out such neat ways of working the computer and other things.

    Hope I’m not coming across as one of those plucky and brave blindies I’ve heard so much about. Most of us do our best, you know, and there’s no need for hyperbole.

    Reply

  2. Keep spreading the joy! Great blog 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

