Me… in stereo.

I gave my first live radio interview this evening. It’s very different on this side of the microphone.

Now I’m paranoid that I misspoke. Did I say 50% when I meant 40%? Did I say year when I meant four months?

I know I didn’t finish the story about my medications, and how I’ve quit them all.

And then there’s the subject of my vision field.

“I can’t see your eyes and your chin at the same time.”

The circle I view the world through isn’t a constant size. I have good days and bad. When I get tired, the circle is smaller. When my head is pounding, things are less than 20/20.

In studio, I was a bit nervous, which shrank the circle a bit.

Unfortunately, I think I gave the impression that it’s always that small. In truth, on good days I can see an entire face at five feet, and the entire TV at ten feet.

But I still can’t see my left ear.

The Silent Killer?

Did I say that glaucoma was known as the silent killer?

Bwahahahahah!

What I meant was: Glaucoma is known as the Silent Thief of Sight.

Wow. What a way to sign off. Oh, well. That’s life without a net.

Listen for yourself

TBTL Skate Party PhotoHear me in all my imperfect, neurotic glory on 97.3 KIRO-FM’s Too Beautiful To Live.

Grab it for your iPod or iPhone in iTunes or listen on the web.

It’s the 4-21-2009 episode. My interview is the 8:00pm – 9:00pm segment.

Thanks to Luke & Jen. You were wonderfully gracious hosts and really know how to make a guest feel comfortable and welcome.

I hope you meant it when you told me not to be a stranger. When I hear this episode in a month and a half, I’ll e-mail you to let you know what I thought.

11 responses to this post.

  1. I really enjoyed hearing you on TBTL’s podcast this morning during my commute. I would tell you about it, but I don’t want to ruin anything for a time-banditer such as yourself. jk

    I found myself thinking what a pleasant interviewee you were. I think you did fabulously! I’m glad I could hear some of your story and was led to your blog. Thanks!

    Reply

    • Thanks for your reassurance. I know I’m going to stress over it until I actually hear the show… and then I’ll just focus on how many times I say “Uhhh” and “Ummm”.

      I haven’t been on mic in a while, and I’ve never done live broadcast. The ability to go back and edit your thoughts is important for the neurotic. I’m the type of person who re-records voice-mails until I get it right. Also, I’m used to being the interviewer not the interviewee.

      Everything I do lately is a first-time experience so this is just par for the course.

      I had a tremendous amount of fun, in spite of the less-than-funny topic. Glad I wasn’t a dull hour, which was my second biggest fear.

      My biggest fear was that there was going to be a traffic situation in Diggstown.

      Reply

  2. You sounded great. I’ve been in the TBTL studio a couple times. The first time I was ridiculously nervous all day long. The second time I was fine up until the time I got to the studio, and then the nerves once again kicked in. Of course, Luke and Jen are tremendously skilled at what they do so talking to them makes the interview seem so effortless. But still, nerves are nerves. 🙂

    Your story was fascinating. Thanks for having the courage to share it.

    -Kate in Phinney

    Reply

    • I wasn’t nervous about being on the air, but I was nervous that:

      1. I was going to sound ignorant about my own physicality,
      2. I was going to be boring,
      3. I was going to get sick and either have to cancel or have a helper at my side.

      I cleared my whole day to make sure I was going to be able to function.

      It was important to me that I go to the studio alone (I’m stressing my independence) so I made sure I was rested, I had a healthy breakfast and lunch, and I drank plenty of water. I prepared for my segment by listening to a few episodes of the show and writing down the definition of “Glaucoma” to keep handy if they asked.

      After 5pm, when I was sure I was still going to be feeling good, I got exited and eight o’clock couldn’t come fast enough.

      Glad you were able to stay awake through it.
      If you see me around Phinney, don’t be shy. I’m trying not to be.

      Reply

  3. Posted by April aka InspectorLuv aka Fugly on April 22, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    I’m also a TBTL 10 (well, a Tenver). You did an excellent job with the interview and, even though you weren’t able to finish all of your stories, you gave us a taste of your experience. I look forward to reading your blog and please, please keep us updated. I know I would love to hear from you when you’ve actually heard the show (it would be soooo meta). As a fellow Time Bandit, you are completely right about listening out of order- it’s simply not advised.

    When I heard your cane story, it reminded me that the things we fear most are often not as bad as we think they are and, in fact, may lead to some pleasant surprises. I’m glad the SUV didn’t hurt you and I’m also glad the cane is turning out to be a positive thing. Sometimes, when people are aware of our difficulties, they are more likely to behave with empathy… when the difficulties are less obvious, people can be less compassionate.

    One last thing before I go, I’m fascinated by the picture of what it’s like to see through your eyes. When I first saw it on the blog, I didn’t know what it referred to, so I just thought it was cool. After hearing your story, I found it incredibly powerful.

    Thanks for taking the time and having the courage to share your story with us.

    Reply

    • Thanks for listening.

      I’ll do my best to keep everyone updated – and to live a life filled with updates.

      My experience with TBTL has already had been very meta. When I heard Luke reading a 2-month old e-mail I sent from the first day I started listening to TBTL (I’m two months behind) it was very meta, but not as much as pausing TBTL to answer the phone and hearing Jen Andrews on the other end of the line.

      I don’t know why I was so afraid of the cane. I still don’t know why I’m afraid to make an appointment with Karen the Cane Lady. I have a new reason to procrastinate – I left her card in the KIRO studio and no longer have her phone number. I’ll look it up “tomorrow”.

      I know I’m being stupid, but publicly announcing a vulnerability with every move you make was a much bigger deal than I realized.

      The encouraging words in the comments of this blog are really helping me. Thanks for taking the time.

      Oh, and glad you liked the photo. I was hoping it worked on two levels when I made it. This is the first time I’ve publicly talked about its meaning. (Explaining art is almost as deadly as explaining a joke.)

      Speaking of art, any idea how I can take the seven foot painting I did on my living room wall with me when I leave?

      Reply

    • OMG! I just realized who you are!

      You and your husband boyfriend made the Prisine “a few days ago”. (I have no sense of time because I’m a Time Bandit).

      I’m seriously considering making a batch.

      Reply

      • Posted by April aka InspectorLuv aka Fugly on April 24, 2009 at 6:27 am

        Yep, that’s me. Although, Cornhole is my boyfriend- we’ve been together for about 3 months.

        I recommend skipping the prizine and heading straight for the McNuggetinis (sans bbq sauce). We liked the Strawberry Shake w/ Godiva Chocolate liqueur. Yum.

        Reply

  4. The interview was great and quite fascinating. I was sad when the hour was over. You did a wonderful job! Thanks for sharing your story with all of us. 🙂

    -Jessica, Rochester NY time-bandit

    Reply

  5. Your interview was great! I could have listened to three hours of you talking about your experiences. I also love reading your blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

