Don’t make fun of David Paterson, He’s BLIND!!!

Don’t you know he’s made of powdered sugar and if you make fun of his b-l-i-n-d-n-e-s-s he will simply melt.

You are to find nothing about him funny, not even this photo from his childhood.
paterson184400

He’s blind, and therefore should only be the object of public pride and secret pity.

No, wait. Scratch all of that.
I take the George Carlin school of thought on the subject, which is: ANYTHING can be made funny if you come at it right.

SNL’s bread and butter is cheap shots. It was funny when Chevy Chase fell down a lot. It was funny when Dana Carvey asked “Can I finish?” twelve times in a row. It was funny when Tiny Fey didn’t change a single word of Palin-speak, and it may or may not be funny now.

I haven’t seen the skit in question, so I can’t speak to the quality of it’s comedy, but I object to the idea that the entire SUBJECT is off limits.

Maybe I’m not blind enough, but after fifteen years I think my vote should count. Sadly, I doubt anyone will listen to me any more than they listen to David Paterson himself.

Governor Not Rattled By Blind-Man Humor (via NY Times’ International Herald Tribune)

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by John S. on March 2, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    That’s a great picture. Sorry to hear you’re losing your sight brother.

    I’ve recently started a blog, I see yours is a little green to. I’m interested in adding links to other humorist blogs. You?

    Reply

    • Wow. I stopped halfway through my first editing session to take a walk, and when I got home I realized that not only did I accidentally leave the site “live”, but I already have a comment!

      Yeah, this site is still very green. I only first thought of it about eight hours ago.

      Reply

  2. […] by Neurotic Nomad in Blind Anger, Blind Learning. Leave a Comment Ok, I already poked the bear by mentioning Paterson before, but holy crap, I just found this out: David Paterson can’t read. At all. Not in print, not […]

    Reply

Leave a comment